Ready, Steady… CRASH

Watch out, Mils is about.

I’ve finally started my driving lessons, something that has been on the cards for quite a while. Well… I was going to wait until after university, but they were a Christmas present from the father so I can’t pass up the opportunity!

Before the lesson I was so, so nervous. All I was doing was picturing scenarios in my head, pretty drastic ones at that. I know they wouldn’t happen, it was just the initial shock of actually driving a car. I mean, what if the car crashed? What if I cause a collision or i run someone over? It’s a bit drastic, but I over worry half the time.

Stepping into the car, my nerve levels were about medium to high (ish) – somewhere in the middle. Of course, I didn’t drive instantly. I had no clue what I was doing! The instructor talked me through the controls and safety checks. Putting me at ease as I got behind the wheel of the car, ready for him to describe the gears, wheel and the pedals along with the clutch. (I didn’t even know there was a clutch).

Honestly, if any of you are considering driving lessons, and you’re either nervous or scared to drive. You are will be PERFECTLY fine. I was practically shaking in the lead up to my first lesson, but by the end of the hour, I drove all the way home reaching 40mph. Okay, 40mph probably doesn’t sound a lot, but for someone who hasn’t driven before it’s a lot. If I can do, you can do it. Once you master the gears, you’re all set.

I can’t wait to see what my next lesson has in store for me! (Which is next Monday btw).

P.s. Stay tuned for next weeks run down xox

Leave a Reply

